

ELECTIONS TO THE SENATE May/June 2016

COUNTING OF BALLOTS

School of Management and Languages

At the close of voting on 30 May 2016, the following candidates have been elected to serve for a threevear term as Senators drawn from SML:

Mr Amos Haniff Dr Christopher Dodd

A total of 57 ballot papers were returned.

Under the STV voting system, since there were 2 places available, the 'quota' was set at 20 votes (i.e. candidates needed to receive 20 or more votes to be elected).

The counting ran to four rounds, which are summarised below:

	Round 1 Votes	Round 2 Votes	Round 3 Votes	Round 4 Votes
Mr Amos Haniff	33	-	1	-
Dr Christopher Dodd	8	15.22	15.22	18.94
Dr Kathryn Waite	7	10.61	11.61	15.33
Dr Terry Lansdown	6	7.44	10.16	-
Dr Mary Stewart	3	3.72	-	

Mr Haniff was therefore elected at the first round of counting, and Dr Dodd was elected at the fourth round.

John McDermott (on behalf of the Returning Officer)

John McDermott, Officer to the Secretariat, George Heriot Wing, Edinburgh Campus, Heriot-Watt University, EH14 4AS 0131 451 3796

J.McDermott@hw.ac.uk