

## ELECTIONS TO THE SENATE May/June 2016

## COUNTING OF BALLOTS

## School of Engineering and Physical Sciences

At the close of voting on 30 May 2016, the following candidates have been elected to serve for a threeyear term as Senators drawn from EPS:

## Professor Vicki Stone Dr Gillian Thomson Dr Peter Kew Professor Stuart Macgregor Dr Mutasim Nour

A total of 74 valid ballot papers were returned.

Under the STV voting system, since there were 5 places available, the 'quota' was set at 13.33 votes (i.e. candidates needed to receive 13.33 or more votes to be elected).

The counting ran to six rounds,	which are summarised below:
---------------------------------	-----------------------------

	Round 1	Round 2	Round 3	Round 4	Round 5	Round 6
	Votes	Votes	Votes	Votes	Votes	Votes
Professor Vicki Stone	20	-	-	-	-	-
Dr Gillian Thomson	12	14.75	-	-	-	-
Dr Peter Kew	10	10.39	10.39	11.59	11.59	12.69
Professor Stuart Macgregor	9	11.35	11.59	12.08	13.08	15.22
Dr Mutasim Nour	8	8	8.1	8.1	9.18	9.18
Dr Scott Dalgarno	5	5.39	5.53	6.63	6.63	6.77
Professor Erika Andersson	4	4	4.33	4.37	5.37	-
Dr Keith Brown	4	4	4.08	4.08	-	-
Dr Alexander Bell	2	2.78	3.31	-	-	-

Professor Stone was therefore elected at the first round of counting, and Dr Thomson was elected at the second round. Dr Kew, Professor Macgregor and Dr Nour were all elected at the sixth round.

John McDermott (on behalf of the Returning Officer)

John McDermott, Officer to the Secretariat, George Heriot Wing, Edinburgh Campus, Heriot-Watt University, EH14 4AS 0131 451 3796 J.McDermott@hw.ac.uk