

ELECTIONS TO THE SENATE May/June 2016

COUNTING OF BALLOTS

School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society

At the close of voting on 30 May 2016, the following candidates have been elected to serve for a three-year term as Senators drawn from EGIS:

Dr Gabriela Medero Dr Jingshen Ma Dr Sandhya Patidar

A total of 48 ballot papers were returned.

Under the STV voting system, since there were 3 places available, the 'quota' was set at 13 votes (i.e. candidates needed to receive 13 or more votes to be elected).

The first round of counting (of all the first preferences stated on the ballot papers) gave the following outcome:

Dr David Connolly 4 votes
Professor Joao Pombo 3 votes
Dr Gabriela Medero 13 votes
Dr Jingshen Ma 14 votes
Dr Sandhya Patidar 14 votes

Dr Medero, Dr Ma and Dr Patidar were therefore elected at the first round of counting.

John McDermott (on behalf of the Returning Officer)

John McDermott, Officer to the Secretariat, George Heriot Wing, Edinburgh Campus, Heriot-Watt University, EH14 4AS 0131 451 3796 J.McDermott@hw.ac.uk