Heriot-Watt University

THE COURT

In the Chair:	Mr Bruce Pritchard, Chair of Court	
Present:	Professor Paul Dalgarno, Senate Member Mr Graeme Dickson, Lay Member Mr Cameron Fields, Student Union (SU) President	Mr Jürgen Munz, Trade Union Member Ms Marta Phillips, Lay Member Mr Alan Robertson, Lay Member
	Mr Steve Heathcote, Lay Member Professor David Jenkins, Trade Union Member Mr Gary Kildare, Lay Member Mr Paul Lewis, Lay Member Ms Holly McAdams, SU Vice-President (Academic) Dr Yvonne McLaren-Hankin, Dean of the University Professor Steve McLaughlin, Vice-Principal	Mr Ian Stevenson, Lay Member Ms Denise Thomas, Lay Member Mr Mike Tumilty, Lay Member Dr Laura Wicks, Staff Member Professor Richard Williams, Principal and Vice- Chancellor Ms Dorothy Wright, Lay Member
In attendance:	Ms Ruth Moir, University Secretary Ms Lisa Herlihy, Clerk to the Court	
Apologies:	Ms Hilary Hansen, Lay Member Dr Brian Henderson, Alumni Member Dr Bill MacPherson, Senate Member Mr Bruce Roberts, Staff Member	
MINUTE REF		

M24/84 WELCOME, APOLOGIES AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Chair welcomed all present to the regular business meeting, which had been convened to consider a single item, and noted the apologies. No interests were declared.

M24/85 ORDINANCE J3: APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-PRINCIPAL (MALAYSIA) AND EXTENSION OF THE VICE-PRINCIPAL (MALAYSIA) (Ct7-24-45)

The Court received and approved an amendment to Ordinance J3: *Appointment of the Vice-Principal (Malaysia)*, noting that the revised wording indicated that 'in exceptional circumstances', the Vice-Principal (Malaysia) would be eligible for 'a third consecutive term of up to three years.'

The Court then considered a proposed extension to the term of Professor Mushtak Al-Atabi, Vice-Principal (Malaysia). Professor Al-Atabi's current term was due to end on 31 July 2027, at which point he would have served 10 years as Vice-Principal (Malaysia). The extension would be for a further three years up to 31 July 2030. The Court noted that the extension of the appointment would provide continuity of leadership in Malaysia as the University transitioned through delivery of Strategy 2025 to Strategy 2035, using the Malaysia Campus as a hub within the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

The Court had a full discussion regarding the importance of effective succession planning across the University Executive roles, noting that this matter had now been added into the remit of the Remuneration Committee. This work would be a focus for the Committee in 2024-25, working with the Global Director of HR. It was noted that effective succession planning was critical to assuring a smooth transition in senior appointments and to minimising the instances in which the University used the exceptional circumstances provision with the Ordinance. In relation to the Vice-Principal (Malaysia) role, an extension to 2030 would provide five years to ensure a robust succession plan, whilst providing Professor Al-Atabi with the opportunity to fully progress strategic initiatives for growth that he was currently developing with the Heriot-Watt University Malaysia (HWUM) Board and the Court.

Following discussion, the Court approved the extension of Professor Al-Atabi's appointment for three years up 31 July 2030.

M24/83 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The Chair noted that the next regular business meeting of the Court would be held on 5 December 2024, from 8.30am (UK time), 12.30pm (Dubai time) and 4.30pm (Malaysia time).